Skip to content

Cameras

January 4, 2020

IMG_20200104_005145.jpg

I bought a Fuji X-T30!

It’s my first mirrorless camera. I wanted to get something smaller and I just love the look of the fuji cameras. It was on a good sale for $600, and I bought the lens separately for $450. Wish I could’ve waited for the lens to go on sale but I couldn’t do anything with just the body so shouganai darou.

 

On the left we have old film cameras given to me by my dad. I don’t actually use these as film is too expensive and difficult. I did do some film in high school so I understand the mechanics, but I just keep these around for hipster cred(and to preserve them).

Starting from the far left we have the Minolta 110 zoom slr(1976)

DSC_6253.jpg

Ricoh KR-5(1978)

DSC_6257.jpg

Nikon FE2(1983)

DSC_6259.jpg

Nikon FA(1983)

DSC_6261.jpg

And over to the right we have our digital cameras. I’ll go into a little bit of detail for these since they all hold a special place in my heart.

DSC_6264.jpg

To the far right we have the Nikon coolpix P60. It was the first camera I bought with my own money. It’s a very simple point and shoot camera. I chose it because it actually has manual controls for shutter speed and aperture, and also an electronic viewfinder. Not bad for $60.

DSC_6266.jpg

The next one is my Nikon D3100 which i used extensively for almost 8 years. It’s one of the lightest entry level DSLRs on the market. Got it for around $600 back in 2011.

DSCF0115.jpg

Next is the behemoth Nikon D7200 with vertical grip, flash, and a 60mm macro lens attached. I had been interested in getting the D7000 line of cameras as far back as 2012 with the D7100. But not having a steady source of income and being frugal with my expenses kept it out of reach until mid-2019 when I picked up a refurbished one for $500. It’s my main camera now and I use it for events like conventions and figure photography.

DSC_6239.jpg

And lastly in the middle of the pack is the new Fuji X-T30. A return to form if you will. The classic body design of film cameras. Compact size not much bigger than a point and shoot. And the power of an interchangeable lens camera all wrapped into one tiny but exceptional package.
I’m hoping a smaller camera like this will encourage me to take the camera out to shoot more often. I find myself only taking out my Nikon for special occasions and sometimes missing the shot because I didn’t bring my camera with me.

No comments yet

Leave a comment